Barcelona Energia expands into nine municipalities in the metropolitan area

The public power distributor will be offering its services to the nine metropolitan municipalities which are to become shareholders in TERSA – Barcelona Energia in 2021.

05/06/2021 11:20 h

Ajuntament de Barcelona

The municipal councils of Castellbisbal, L’Hospitalet de Llobregat, El Prat de Llobregat, Sant Boi de Llobregat, Sant Feliu de Llobregat, Sant Just Desvern, Sant Vicenç dels Horts, Torrelles de Llobregat and Viladecans are joining the distributor and will get completely renewable locally produced public energy to power their facilities and street lighting. At the same time, the municipalities will have access to tailored advice on billing and support with carrying out energy transition projects, with special attention to the promotion of self-consumption and the optimisation and reduction of consumption.

The expansion is in line with the Climate and Energy Plan 2030, the metropolitan area’s climate strategy, and the expectation is that even more municipal councils from the Barcelona metropolitan area will join in with the change in 2022.

If the 36 municipalities making up the metropolitan area all become part of Barcelona Energia in the future, estimates put the annual savings at 660,000 euros and the reduction in yearly CO2 emissions at 33,402 tonnes.