Composition of the new plenary for the 2019-2023 term of office

Twenty-nine of the forty-one councillors taking possession of their seats on 15 June for the 2019-2023 term of office will be newcomers to the plenary at the City Hall. The reconfigured Municipal Council won’t have such an equal distribution of men and women, with 19 women and 22 men (compared to 20 and 21 in the last term of office), and the average age will drop from 50.8 to 49.8 years old. At the same time, while there has never been this many new councillors from one term to the next, there is actually three newcomers less than four years ago.

15/06/2019 19:37 h

Ajuntament de Barcelona

One by one, and by political group, these are the 41 people who will be sitting in the Saló Carles Pi i Sunyer as from Saturday 15 June, once the municipal corporation is constituted for the 2019-2023 term of office.

Less women as councillors or heading groups

While there was parity in electoral lists, the list of elected councillors shows that the balance is in men’s favour. Until now there were 20 women and 21 men on the City Council, while this time around the number of women councillors drops to 19 and the number of men rises to 22.

By group, the ERC, BComú, the PSC and BCN pel Canvi – Cs are the parties with total parity. At the other end of the scale is the PP, whose two councillors are both men. JxCat has three men and two women.

BComú is the only group headed by a woman, the acting mayor, Ada Colau.

A year younger

The average age of the Municipal Council which bid farewell to the last term office on 12 June was 50.8, while the new-look plenary has an average age of 49.8, exactly a year younger. Even so, the number of councillors over 60 years of age moves up from five to eight. The oldest are Ernest Maragall (ERC, aged 76), Celestino Corbacho (BCNCanvi – Cs and member of the interim board, aged 69), Ferran Mascarell (JxCat, aged 68) and Joan Subirats (BComú, aged 68).

At the other end of the scale we find one councillor under 30, (Max Zañartu of ERC), and six others under 40, Elisenda Alamany and Jordi Castellana (ERC) and Janet Sanz, Laura Pérez, Eloi Badia and Marc Serra (BComú).

BComú is actually the formation with the lowest average age (44.1). The average age of ERC councillors is 49.1, while all the other groups average over 50: BCN Canvi – Cs (51.5), PSC (52.5), J×Cat (53.8) and PP (55).

Seven councillors making a return

Though it might seem a paradox, while the elections prompted a substantial increase in the number of councillors leaving their posts (30 in all), there will not be less experienced members than there were four years ago.

In 2015 there were 16 members repeating as councillors, while this time around there are 19. Twelve of them are carrying on from the last term of office and a further seven, all men, have been councillors on previous occasions.

  • Ernest Maragall, head of the list for ERC, a city councillor from 1995 to 2004 with the PSC, occupying posts during the city governments of his brother, Pasqual Maragall, and Joan Clos.
  • Jordi Martí Grau, now with BComú and municipal manager for the 2015-2019 term of office, he was part of the PSC group from 2011 to 2014 and became its president. Previously the delegate for culture with the municipal government of Jordi Hereu from 2007 to 2011.
  • Albert Batlle, third on the list for the PSC as a representative for the formation Units per Avançar, he is one of the City Council’s veterans. Previously a councillor for sport, he was on the City Council from 1983 to 2003.
  • David Escudé, repeating as a councillor for the PSC after two previous terms of office, from 2011 onwards. From 2016 to the end of 2017 he was the commissioner for sport.
  • Joaquim Forn, previously with CiU and this time for J×Cat, he has been elected as a councillor in all municipal elections since 1999. Having been deputy mayor in the Trías municipal government he became Minister of the Interior with the Government of Catalonia in 2017. He is currently in custody for the events of that year.
  • Ferran Mascarell, now on the list for J×Cat, previously a city councillor between 1999 and 2006.
  • Óscar Ramírez, councillor for the PP from 2007 to 2015, in the elections on 26 May he regained the seat he lost in 2015.

In terms of municipal experience, this is the first time that three elected councillors have previously been mayors. Besides Ada Colau and Celestino Corbacho, Mayor of L’Hospitalet de Llobregat from 1994 to 2008, Manuel Valls was also the mayor of the municipality of Évry, in the Paris metropolitan area, from 2001 to 2012.


Tags associated with the news item

Related news