Call for entries for the Montserrat Roig Awards

The awards recognise bold and committed people-centred journalism. The period for entries ends on 31 January and includes four categories: social journalism, social communication, research in the field of social welfare and a special prize from the jury.

09/01/2020 12:29 h

Ajuntament de Barcelona

This is the third consecutive edition of these awards since they were revamped in 2017. Formerly the Municipal Social Welfare Council awards, the name of the journalist and writer Montserrat Roig was adopted in homage to her career and legacy.

The new awards keep the existing four categories: social journalism, social communication, promotion of journalistic research and the special prize by the jury. This year’s edition attaches special value to journalistic research in the field of ‘Territories and inequalities’, with three different sections: feminisation of poverty, childhood and vulnerability.

All works presented must be linked to the city of Barcelona. Each winning project will get a prize of 8,000 euros, except for the special prize by the jury, which has no monetary value.

The goal of the Montserrat Roig awards is to promote and incentivise quality information, placing the focus on better handling of social topics in the media, and to recognise the need for journalism which offers more in-depth treatment of complex issues.

Works of communication and social journalism entered for the awards have to have been published, broadcast or disseminated between 16 December 2018 and 15 December 2019. Projects for the promotion of research have to be carried out in 2020 and the first quarter of 2021.

See the Montserrat Roig awards website for more information.


Tags associated with the news item