The education system

Education in Catalonia and Spain is compulsory for children aged 6 to 16. A child's school year is determined by their year of birth.

The education system in Catalonia is divided into stages and cycles:

  • Pre-school education 
    •  First cycle (0 to 3 years)
    •  Second cycle (3 to 6 years)
  • Primary education (6 to 12 years, compulsory): with six school years divided into three two-course cycles:
    •  Initial cycle
    •  Intermediate cycle
    •  Upper cycle
  • Compulsory secondary education (ESO, which stands for Educació secundària obligatòria) (from 12 to 16 years): with four school years.
  • Post-compulsory studies:
    •  Baccalaureate
    •  Intermediate and upper-grade educational cycles (vocational training)
    •  University studies
school system chart

Below you will find more information about education: